SMI Board Members

Chairman and Treasurer
Joseph Forshaw is past president and CEO of Forshaw, a family-owned business founded in 1871. He served for several years as an advisory director for Commerce Bank, and is the managing partner of several family real estate partnerships. An alumnus of Saint Louis University High School, Forshaw received both his B.A. and J.D. degrees from Saint Louis University.
Rex Sinquefield is co-founder and former co-chairman of Dimensional Fund Advisors, Inc. He also is co-founder of the Show-Me Institute.
Vice Chairman

Megan Holekamp is a Real Estate Broker at Janet McAfee Inc., the largest independently owned luxury real estate broker in Saint Louis.  She has served on the Development Board of Edgewood Children's Center, as class chair for the Parents Association at Mary Institute and Saint Louis Country Day School, and as the co-chair of the Center of Creative Arts’ annual fundraising gala.


Bevis Schock is a lawyer in solo practice in Saint Louis. He handles a broad array of legal matters with a focus on civil rights. He was lead counsel in the successful challenge to Missouri's red light camera tickets. He received his B.A. in history from Yale University and his J.D. from the University of Virginia.


Stephen Brauer is chairman and CEO of Hunter Engineering Company. From 2001 to 2003, he served as U.S. Ambassador to Belgium. He has served on numerous charitable and civic boards, including the Saint Louis Area Council of Boy Scouts, the Saint Louis Art Museum, and the Missouri Botanical Garden.

Jennifer Bukowski

Jennifer Bukowsky is a constitutional and criminal defense attorney in Columbia, Missouri and the host of The Jennifer Bukowsky Show, a radio and online video show. She serves on the Missouri Supreme Court’s Task Force on Criminal Justice and is Vice President of the Federalist Society–Jefferson City Lawyers Chapter.


James Forsyth is president and CEO of Moto, Inc., which operates the MotoMart chain of gas stations and convenience stores. He is also president and CEO of two other family-owned businesses: Forsyth Carterville Coal Company and Missouri Real Estate. He serves on the boards of St. Luke’s Hospital, YMCA of Southwestern Illinois, and Commerce Bank of Saint Louis....


Louis Griesemer is Chairman of the Board of Springfield Underground, Inc. He is past president of Parkville Stone Company in Parkville, Mo., and Barnhart Limestone in Barnhart, Mo. From 2007 to 2008, he served as chairman of the National Stone, Sand, and Gravel Association.


Robert Heller is a retired judge who served for 28 years on the Shannon County Circuit Court in Missouri, where he presided over a broad range of civil and criminal cases both locally and throughout the state. He has served as a member of several Missouri court-related committees and as a district chair for the Boy Scouts of America. He holds a J.D.

Gregg Keller

Gregg Keller is the Principal of Atlas Strategy Group and is widely regarded as one of the preeminent public affairs professionals in the country.

John Lamping

John Lamping is a former Republican member of the Missouri State Senate, representing District 24. During his time in office he served as Chair of the Families and Pensions Committee and the Joint Committee on Pensions. Lamping has also served on several nonprofit boards and was on the Board of Trustees for Saint Louis University High School.

Michael Podgursky is Chancellor's Professor of Economics at the University of Missouri–Columbia, where he served as department chair from 1995 to 2005, and Director of the Sinquefield Center for Applied Economic Research at Saint Louis University.

Kevin Short is the co-founder and managing partner/CEO of Clayton Capital Partners, a Saint Louis based investment banking firm specializing in merger and acquisition advisement. In 2007, Thomson Financial, FactSet Mergerstat, and Investment Dealers Digest all ranked Clayton Capital Partners as a top U.S. M&A firm.